mobile menu decorative search icon decorativeSearch the site
Main Library reception

Main Library

The Main Library holds the principal collections for teaching and research in the humanities, education, law, medicine, science and the social sciences.

Address

Tel:  +44 (0)161 275 3751

Opening hours

The last entry to the library will be 15 minutes before the officially advertised closure time. This is to ensure that all visitors can vacate the building safely and securely.

Access to the library is by valid University of Manchester ID card.

    Saturday, 14 September to Friday, 13 December 2019

  • Monday to Friday: 8am to 12am
  • Saturday and Sunday: 9am to 12am

    Saturday, 14 December to Monday, 23 December 2019

  • Monday to Friday: 8am to 8pm
  • Saturday and Sunday: 9am to 5pm
  • Notes:

    • Closed Tuesday, 24 December 2019 until Wednesday, 1 January 2020

    Thursday, 2 January to Sunday, 5 January 2020

  • Monday to Friday: 8am to 12am
  • Saturday and Sunday: 9am to 12am

    Monday, 6 January to Friday, 24 January 2020

  • Monday to Friday: 8am to 2am
  • Saturday and Sunday: 9am to 2am

    Saturday, 25 January to Friday, 27 March 2020

  • Monday to Friday: 8am to 12am
  • Saturday and Sunday: 9am to 12am

    Saturday, 28 March to Sunday, 19 April 2020

  • Monday to Friday: 8am to 8pm
  • Saturday and Sunday: 9am to 5pm
  • Notes:

    • Closed - Friday, 10 April to Monday, 13 April 2020

    Monday, 20 April to Wednesday, 3 June 2020

  • Monday to Friday: 8am to 2am
  • Saturday and Sunday: 9am to 2am
  • Notes:

    • Monday, 20 April and Monday, 25 May 2020 - Open from 9am to 2am.
    • Please note that the Main Library will be staffed by the security team on these dates.

    Thursday, 4 June to Sunday, 7 June 2020

  • Thursday to Friday: 8am to 8pm
  • Saturday: 9am to 5pm
  • Sunday: Closed

Lost property

Lost Property is normally handed into the Customer Services Desk of the Main Library.

All items are kept for a limited time, after which they are passed to the Student Services Centre.

We strongly advise you to contact the Customer Services Desk if you think you may have lost an item in the Main Library tel. +44 (0)161 275 3716 or use Library Help:

Toilet facilities

Toilet facilities in the Main Library are located in the Blue Area on all floors with the exception of the Ground floor. They can be found off the landings on staircase 1.

Facilities for disabled customers can be found on Blue Area Ground and Blue Area 1.

Prayer facilities

There are no prayer facilities within the library. However prayer facilities are available throughout the University Campus.