<< Back to A-Z list

Richard Church Papers

Date range: 1921-1973

Medium: Archive

Papers of Richard Thomas Church (1893-1972), poet, novelist and literary critic, one-time President of the Royal Society of Literature.

Church published several volumes of poetry from 1917 onwards, mainly of a Georgian flavour. His most important works were three collections of lyrics, A Glance Backward (1930), News from the Mountain (1932), and The Solitary Man (1941), and the narrative poem, The Lamp (1946). He also wrote a criticism of modern poetry Eight for Immortality (1941), as well as adult and children's fiction and three volumes of autobiography.

The collection contains:

  • Personal correspondence;
  • Correspondence with publishers, agents and other authors;
  • Business and financial papers;
  • Diaries;
  • Original manuscripts and typescripts of Church's major works;
  • Manuscript and typescript copies of essays and talks;
  • Typescripts and cuttings of reviews;
  • Travel papers.

Further information:

Catalogue available via Special Collections reading rooms.


<< Back to A-Z list