menu icon mobile devices search icon mobile devicesSearch the site
Stopford Library

Stopford Library

The Stopford Library serves the Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences.

Address

Stopford Library
3rd Floor
Stopford Building
Faculty of Medical and Human Sciences
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9PT

+44 (0)161 275 5540 (Internal number x55540)

All email enquiries are handled by the Joule Library: uml.joulegeneral@manchester.ac.uk

Opening hours

The last entry to the library will be 15 minutes before the officially advertised closure time. This is to ensure that all customers can vacate the building safely and securely.

Access to the library is by valid University of Manchester ID card.

    Monday, 18 September 2017 to Friday, 22 December 2017

  • Monday: 9am to 5.30pm
  • Tuesday: 9am to 5.30pm
  • Wednesday: 9am to 5pm
  • Thursday: 9am to 5.30pm
  • Friday: 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday: Closed
  • Sunday: Closed
  • Notes:

    • Closed Saturday, 23 December 2017 to Tuesday 2 January 2018

    Wednesday, 3 January to Friday, 26 January 2018

  • Monday to Thursday: 9am to 10pm
  • Friday: 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday: Closed
  • Sunday: Closed

    Saturday, 27 January to Sunday, 15 April 2018

  • Monday: 9am to 5.30pm
  • Tuesday: 9am to 5.30pm
  • Wednesday: 9am to 5pm
  • Thursday: 9am to 5.30pm
  • Friday: 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday: Closed
  • Sunday: Closed
  • Notes:

    • Closed Friday, 30 March to Monday, 2 April 2018

    Monday, 16 April to Wednesday, 6 June 2018

  • Monday to Thursday: 9am to 10pm
  • Friday: 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday: Closed
  • Sunday: Closed
  • Notes:

    • Closed Monday, 7 May and Monday, 28 May 2018

    Thursday, 7 June to Sunday, 10 June 2018

  • Thursday: 9am to 5.30pm
  • Friday: 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday: Closed
  • Sunday: Closed

Collections and resources

The library holds core texts and also other recommended reading for first and second year students in the schools of Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy. We also hold recommended reading for students in the Faculty of Life Sciences.

We have ten sets of half skeletons, two iPads and several anatomical models which are all loanable.

There is also a life size vertical skeleton for use in the Library affectionately known as Ernest. We have a small anatomy DVD collection and sell basic stationery products.

Facilities

There are two MFDs (one colour and one black and white), and 12 quick-use PCs.

The library is for quiet working with a separate silent study area (Except during the examination period when the whole library is for silent study only).

There are six state of the art study rooms which can be booked for up to three hours at a time online via My Manchester. More information can be found on our group study room pages.

Bottled water and covered drinks may be consumed in the library.

Can we help?