Available until 31 July 2021
Individual collections are listed below. They are also accessible and cross-searchable here:
Chadwyck-Healey (legacy platform)
- Black Abolitionist Papers (1830-1865)
This collection searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. Over 15,000 items are available for searching.
- Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements.
Digital National Security Archive
- Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
- Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
- The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
- Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
- China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
- CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
- CIA Family Jewels Indexed
- Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
- The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink
- The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
- The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
- Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
- El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
- El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
- Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
- The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
- Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations. Part I, 1960–1976
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations. Part II, 1977–1992
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
- The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
- The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
- The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
- Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
- Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
- The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
- Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
- Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
- South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
- The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
- Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
- U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
- U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
- The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989
- The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
- U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
- The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2004)
- Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991)
- Hartford Courant (1764-1994)
- The Korea Times (1956-2016)
- Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
- Michigan Chronicle
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
- Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
- St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-2003)
ProQuest History Vault
- African American Police League Records 1961-1988
Contains annual and general reports, court files, fundraising items, historical information, minutes, correspondence, clippings, topical files, newsletters, police brutality files, and publications and flyers relative to the ongoing work of the African American Police League (AAPL) and its education and action arm, the League to Improve the Community (LIC). The collection also contains items on numerous law enforcement and civil rights organizations across the country; materials on the suspension of AAPL executive director Renault Robinson from the Chicago Police Department and related lawsuits; and materials pertaining to the National Black Police Association (NBPA).
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Module 1 - Federal Government Records
The focus of the Federal Government Records module is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organisations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Module 2 - Federal Government Records, Supplement
This module supplements the original module of Federal Government records by adding civil rights records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Module 3 - Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1
The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring a new perspective to the Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle.
- Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Module 4 - Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2
This Black Freedom module is highlighted by the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers.
- NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files
This module provides a comprehensive view of the NAACP's evolution, policies, and achievements from 1909-1970. Included are thousands of pages of minutes of directors' meetings, monthly reports from officers to the board of directors, proceedings of the annual business meetings, significant records of the association's annual conferences, plus voluminous special reports on a wide range of issues.
- NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department Files
The NAACP branch files in this module chronicle the local heroes of the civil rights revolution via NAACP branches throughout the United States, from 1913-1972.
- NAACP Papers: Special Subjects
The NAACP was involved in several subjects that did not rise to the level of major campaigns but were still vital to the organization. This module contains records on those subjects, and in so doing, reveals the wide scope of NAACP activism and interest.
- NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files
This NAACP module consists of the working case files of the NAACP's general counsel and his Legal Department staff for the period from 1956 to 1972.
- NAACP Papers: The NAACP’s Major Campaigns—Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
The focus of this module is on the NAACP's efforts to combat lynching, mob violence, discrimination in the criminal justice system, and white resistance to civil rights efforts. These files are supplemented by materials on segregation and discrimination complaints regarding public accommodations and recreational facilities sent to and investigated by the NAACP, and records on discrimination in employment.
- NAACP Papers --The NAACP's Major Campaigns - Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces
Major campaigns for equal access to education, voting, employment, housing and the military are covered in this module.
- Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948
The British Foreign Office Political Correspondence files on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948 are essential for understanding the modern history of the Middle East, the establishment of Israel as a sovereign state, and the wider web of postwar international world politics.
- Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975
This module covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973.
- Revolutionary War and Early America: Collections from the Massachusetts Historical Society, 1721-1860
This module consists of 26 collections from the holdings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, the first North American historical society and the first library to devote its primary attention to collecting Americana.
ProQuest Magazine Archives
- Country Life Archive (1897-2005)
An archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living. Every page is fully searchable, and reproduced in full color and high resolution. Country Life Archive presents a chronicle of more than 100 years of British heritage, including its art, architecture, and landscapes, with an emphasis on leisure pursuits such as antique collecting, hunting, shooting, equestrian news, and gardening.
- Education Magazine Archive (1910-2015)
An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains strongly to several related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies.
- LGBT Magazine Archive (1954-2015)
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content.
- Religious Magazine Archive (1845-2015)
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.
- The Women's Wear Daily Archive (1910-current)
An archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues,* reproduced in high-resolution images. Pages, articles, advertisements, and covers have been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.
* 6-month embargo on new issues.