ProQuest Primary Sources: extended trial
Available until 31 July 2021
A key consequence of the pandemic for scholars is that access to archives and primary research materials has become far more problematic and is likely to remain so for the near-future. Given this unprecedented situation the University of Manchester Library has arranged temporary access to a further selection of primary source material for this COVID-affected academic year from a major supplier, ProQuest – in effect an extended 2020-21 trial. These electronic collections, websites and streaming media have been selected to complement our extensive existing electronic holdings, both with ProQuest and with other providers.
You can investigate these additional new resources through the listings offered on the publisher tabs below. (The existing option to search across the ProQuest portfolio will also incorporate the new collections within that imprint). Each individual collection will also eventually appear on the Library catalogue and their limited lifespan will be indicated thus –
This collection has been made available as part of a trial; access until 31 July 2021.
- American Studies - Colonial State Papers; Congressional; Digital National Security Archive; additional material on Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle (via the History Vault) and selected historical black newspapers - inc Los Angeles Sentinel & Philadelphia Tribune
- Anthropology - additions to Anthropology Online inc Ethnographic Sounds Archive Online
- Art History - Art & Architecture Archive (inc. backfiles for Architects' Journal and The Architectural Review)
- Drama/Film Studies - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Collections 2 and 3 (Film & Television) and Music & Performing Arts (Alexander St Press)
- Fashion and Popular Culture - Women's Wear Daily Archive and The Sixties
- History - A selection from the History Vault and Early European Books Collections
- Music - Music & Performing Arts (Alexander St Press), inc. Classical Scores Library
- Religion & Theology - 20th Century Religious Thought Library
Alexander Street Press
ProQuest's Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research.
Includes ProQuest's Digital National Security Archive, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest History Vault, ProQuest Magazine Archives and Chadwyck-Healey resources.