mobile menu decorative search icon decorativeSearch the site
Joule Library

Joule Library

The Joule Library holds major collections in science, engineering and technology.

The entrance to Joule Library can be found on E floor of the Sackville Street Building (formerly the Main Building at UMIST).

Enter the building from Granby Row where you can take the lift or stairs to the library.

Address

Joule Library
The University of Manchester Library
Sackville Street Building
The University of Manchester
Manchester
M13 9PL

General enquiries and Issue Desk: +44 (0)161 306 4923 (internal ext: 64923)
Fax: +44 (0)161 306 4941

Help and support

Visit Library Help for further assistance:

Opening hours

The last entry to the library will be 15 minutes before the officially advertised closure time. This is to ensure that all customers can vacate the building safely and securely.

Access to the library is by valid University of Manchester ID card.

    Saturday, 15 September to Sunday, 16 December 2018

  • Monday to Thursday: 9am to 8pm
  • Friday : 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday: 9am to 6pm
  • Sunday: 1pm to 6pm

    Monday, 17 December to Friday, 21 December 2018

  • Monday to Friday: 9am to 5pm
  • Notes:

    • Closed Saturday, 22 December until Tuesday, 1 January 2019

    Wednesday, 2 January to Sunday, 6 January 2019

  • Monday to Thursday: 9am to 8pm
  • Friday: 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday : 9am to 6pm
  • Sunday: 1pm to 6pm

    Monday, 7 January to Friday, 25 January 2019

  • Monday to Friday: 9am to 12am
  • Saturday: 9am to 12am
  • Sunday : 1pm to 12am

    Saturday, 26 January to Sunday, 28 April 2019*

  • Monday to Thursday: 9am to 8pm
  • Friday: 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday : 9am to 6pm
  • Sunday: 1pm to 6pm
  • Notes:

    • Closed - Friday, 19 April to Monday, 22 April 2019

    Monday, 29 April to Wednesday, 5 June 2019*

  • Monday to Friday: 9am to 12am
  • Saturday: 9am to 12am
  • Sunday: 1pm to 12am
  • Notes:

    • Monday, 6 May and Monday, 27 May 2019 - Open from 9am to 12am
    • Please note the library will be staffed by a security team on these dates, so access will be with a valid University of Manchester Library ID card only.

    Thursday, 6 June to Sunday, 9 June 2019

  • Thursday: 9am to 8pm
  • Friday: 9am to 5pm
  • Saturday and Sunday: Closed

Flexible study space

The Joule Library has 248 individual study spaces, many having charging sockets, and another 45 spaces in fantastic retro 'soft seating areas'. There is also a state-of-the-art group study room.

  • E Floor: 162 total
  • F Floor: 86 total

Other facilities

There are three self-service photocopiers, two black and white copiers and one colour copier. There is also a microfiche/microfilm reader/printer. These machines are all located on the Main Level (E Floor).

Joule Library provides access to 55 networked PCs with CD rewriters and networked printing facilities.