menu icon mobile devices search icon mobile devicesSearch the site

Databases

Browse databases

A brief introduction to each of the databases available to you, together with information about access requirements, can be found by selecting the database from the alphabetical list below


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

The Library has access to over 400 databases; the interfaces of all can look slightly different and they may use different terminology but the concept of using databases is the same. Choose between a basic search to search for information or the advanced search option which will give you more options to refine and limit your results to get a more relevant set of search results.

You will often see a ‘Find It' button when looking through your search results in databases. This button can be used to see if the University of Manchester Library has access to a particular article in either online or print format. Articles not held by the library can be ordered via Document Supply and Inter-Library Loan.

Which database to use?

You can find out which databases are recommended for your subject by visiting the subject pages

Support on searching within databases:

My Learning Essentials Shopping for information – introducing subject databases

This resource looks at the process of performing a search within a number of popular databases:

My Learning Essentials: Getting results – guides to using databases

Newspaper databases

The Library provides comprehensive access to a vast archive of British and overseas newspapers, including electronic access to many current publications. Newspapers are an excellent primary source research tool, not only providing reports about events and issues but also editorials and letters that can be extremely useful for deeper understanding. Access the Newspaper guide for further information.

Statistics databases

The Library provides access to a number of databases where you can find statistics on a range of subjects. Statistics provide important information that can support your coursework and research. As part of your studies you may need to find, access and use statistical data. Access the Statistics guide for further information. 

Parliament Rolls of Medieval England
Scholarly Digital Editions

Can we help?